Staff & Contact Information

Find contact information for assistance with the Deterrence Symposium.


The Commander, United States Strategic Command (USSTRATCOM) sponsors a competition for the best research papers on the subject of strategic deterrence. Participating schools and researchers are asked to submit papers to USSTRATCOM by 7 June 2024

Dress Code

USA: Service B w/ ribbons
USMC: Service C w/ ribbons
USN: Summer Whites
USAF: Short Sleeve Blue Shirt
USSF: Class B Short Sleeve Blue Shirt
Civilian: Business Attire

USSTRATCOM Social Channels

Submissions will be judged in one of two categories (“Senior Researcher” and “Junior Researcher”). The winning author in each category will be recognized with an award, as well as an invitation and funding to attend the 2024 Deterrence Symposium.

Criteria for papers are:

  • Recommended paper length: 10-20 double-spaced pages (however, paper length is flexible to meet individual school requirements)
  • Thorough citing of references and historical facts
  • Submissions must not contain any classified references or material
  • Submit papers electronically to Mr. Michael Powell,

Any questions you may contact Mr. Michael Powell, or (402) 912-5125.

2023 Award Winners

Chinese War Control and U.S. Approaches to Deterrence

Annika Kastetter, CSIS Nuclear Scholars Program, 2022 Cohort

Russian Thought, Global Challenges: A Dive into Russian Perspectives of Strategic Stability

Mr. Brandon Cortino, Project Associate, CRDF Global


2022 Award Winners

Deterring, Countering, and Defeating Conventional-Nuclear Integration

Dr. Justin Anderson, National Defense University
Lt Col James R. McCue, USAF

Revitalizing America's Low-Yield Deterrent

Cadet First Class Alexander R. Kleitz, U.S. Air Force Academy


2021 Award Winners

Russia and Western Concepts of Deterrence, Normative Power, and Sanctions

Dr. Viljar Veebel, Baltic Defence College

Deterring Terrorist Organizations in Times of a Global Pandemic

Mr. Grant Van Robays, University of Nebraska-Omaha


2020 Award Winner

Strategy in the New Era of Tactical Nuclear Weapons

Colonel Joseph D. Becker, USA


2019 Award Winners

India's Deterrence Goldilocks Dilemma in South Asia

Mr. Geoffrey Brown, Georgia Institute of Technology

Extended Deterrence and Resilience in the Baltic States

Second Lieutenant Liam J. Connolly, U.S. Air Force Academy


2018 Award Winner

Xi Jinping's Rise and Aspirations: Prospect Theory Analysis

Victoria Cera
Daniel Flynn
Dr. Keith Payne
James To
Michelle Wietbrock


2017 Award Winners

Perception is Reality: The ROK's Displeasure with the US Tailored Deterrence Strategy

Barbara J. Hirz

Russion Information Warfare & Implications for Deterrence Policy

Media Ajir
Shelby Haas
Bethany Vailiant